Emily

American as in United Statean. Blond.  Pretty eyes and deceptively sweet smile.

Activist.

Very strong ideals.

Ecologocically outraged at the current state of affairs.

She announces, “I’m a Scorpio”.

“I see, so, what are you doing so far away from home?”

“They told me this place has some very radical movements”.

“They told you wrong. Where are you staying?”

“I don’t know yet.”

“Come stay at my place.”

Pause.

She looks at me and doesn’t say anything.

“So?”

“Okay, but I have a boyfriend back home.”

“I’m glad, but, what’s that got to do with anything?”

She smiles and shakes her head.

I pick up her suitcase.

I can almost feel the trouble right under the surface, pushing her and pulling me.  Life takes a turn just when I started reading Dante, who’d have guessed.

One thought on “Emily

  1. Emily has become my little sister. She’s living at home, comes and goes, meets people, actively engages in activism and then tells me all about it.

Leave a Reply

